top of page
  • AZ Insurance Team

You and your child might be breaking the law

Updated: Jul 31, 2020

You and your child might be breaking the law

No responsible adult wants to put their own child at risk of injury or death, but you may unknowingly be doing just that. In the United States, 663 children ages 12 and younger died as occupants in motor vehicle crashes during 2015 and more than 121,350 were injured in 2014.

Seeing statistics like that is enough to make anyone depressed, but is it enough to make you do something about it? We can’t change the world, but we can change ourselves.

It only takes a few seconds to buckle in a child and verify that they’re safely secured. However, one study found that more than 618,000 children under the age of 12 rode in vehicles without the use of a child safety seat, booster seat, or seat belt.

In the state of Arizona, the law requires all children younger than 8 years or less than 4 feet 9 inches tall to sit in a proper child safety seat, such as a booster seat, when riding in a vehicle. If you’re not currently following these guidelines with your own child, you’re breaking the law and putting your child at serious risk.

Arizona Booster Seat Details

  • Children between ages 5 and 7 must ride in a booster seat unless they are 4 feet 9 inches tall.

  • Once a child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller, they are no longer required to ride in a booster seat, regardless of age

  • A child’s weight has no bearing on the law, only height and age.

The bottom line is that in order for a child to graduate to an adult safety belt, they have to meet either the age (8) or height (4 feet 9 inches tall) requirement. Booster seat use reduces the risk for serious injury by 45% for children aged 4–8 years when compared with seat belt use alone.

Use this handy tool to find a free child car seat inspector near you: Locator here

Refer to the image below or for more info follow this link: More Info here

car seat and booster seat diagram

-AZ Insurance Team 480-535-5709

bottom of page